Skip to content

Father’s Day

June 20, 2010

First of all, “Happy Father’s Day” to my dad, Richard Guzik. He is and has been a great dad for me and all my brothers and sisters. There are five Guzik kids born to my parents, and two sets of twins (my mom and dad had five kids born in four years).

Here is a little Father’s Day gift that Jonathan did for me. He’s quite the graphic artist, and knows how to use Illustrator, Photoshop, and InDesign. He’s done a lot of comic-book style stuff in the last year, because he was editor of his high school yearbook and they had a comic book/superhero theme for the yearbook.

The idea, as he explained, is “Dad as a Comic-Book Featured Bible Commentator.” Of course it’s both funny and nice for him to do it, and a great Father’s Day present.

I tell my kids all the time that Bible Commentators are going to be the next big cultural icons. I can just see it:

  • An “American Idol” type show where they highlight the unknown yet talented Bible Commentators, and they compete week after week explaining Bible passages until a winner emerges.
  • A “Survivor” type show were Bible Commentators are stranded in obscure places and have to prepare good commentary without their normal resources. Texts are explained with stone carvings, hieroglyphics, or smoke signals.
  • A “Cribs” type show where a Bible Commentator gives a tour of his office and book collection.
  • A reality show that peels back the lid and shows the gritty, rough-and-tumble life of a Bible Commentator and his family.
  • Instead of music at the Super Bowl halftime, and Bible Commentator shows his skills and lays out a text for the millions who watch.

You just wait. It could happen.

From → Life

One Comment
  1. Too funny! Those sound like great shows, I would watch them.

Leave a comment